Statement on the Violence Against Women Act Reauthorization Act of 2022 February 10, 2022

Yesterday, Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Richard Durbin (D-IL), and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) introduced the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2022. This important bill reflects a bipartisan consensus that the government needs to do more to prevent and respond to domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking. The bill addresses many of the needs identified during extensive engagement with the domestic violence and sexual assault fields. A summary of the Senate bill can be found here.

The House of Representatives passed their version of this bill, led by Representatives Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX-18) and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-01), last March. ASISTA encourages the Senate to swiftly pass the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2022 and send it to the House for a vote.

We know that a stronger, more inclusive bill would have contained additional protections for immigrant survivors, given the many additional barriers to achieving safety and justice that immigrants experience.  At the same time, we are pleased that the bill includes increased support for culturally specific services and other critical protections that will benefit countless survivors. 


Organizations and individuals: Join the NTF in urging your senators to cosponsor and vote in favor of this bill. Just click here to automatically send an email! You can find social media posts and graphics here.

Organizations only: In addition to the actions above, please use this form to sign onto the NTF’s letter in support of this bill by Monday, February 14.

Please reach out with any questions to Rachel Graber (, Dorian Karp (, Monica McLaughlin (, and Terri Poore (