Past | All

Navigating Systems with your Immigrant Survivor Clients

Nov 14, 2022

OVW Webinar Join us for a CLE Webinar Navigating Systems with your Immigrant Survivor Clients Monday, November 14, 2022 from 2-4pm ET (1-3pm CT/12-2pm MT/11am-1pm PT/8-10am HT) REGISTER NOW Navigating systems ostensibly designed to serve survivors can nonetheless be confusing, demoralizing, and exhausting. Immigrant survivors frequently have well-founded fear and distrust of many of these…

View More

Inadmissibility Webinar Series: Misrepresentation & Smuggling

Oct 27, 2022 2:00PM—3:00PM

Private webinar

Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members (Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join us) Inadmissibility Webinar Series: Misrepresentation & Smuggling Thursday, October 27th 2022 from 2-3pm ET (1-2pm CT/12-1pm MT/11am-12pm PT) REGISTER NOW! Join ASISTA for a deep dive into the effects of the misrepresentation and smuggling grounds of inadmissibility at INA sections 212(a)(6)(C) and 212(a)(6)(E)…

View More

October 6, 2022: Representing LGBTQ+ Immigrant Survivors

Oct 06, 2022 2:00PM—3:30PM

 Specialized Webinar: Representing LGBTQ+ Immigrant Survivors  Thursday, October 6th, 2022, from 2:00-3:30 pm ET (1-2:30pm CT/12-1:30pm MT/11am-12:30pm PT)  REGISTER HERE  LGBTQ+ Immigrant survivors navigate multiple and complex barriers to safety and immigration status, including bias and criminalization. During this session practitioners will learn best practices for working with LGBTQ+ immigrants who have experienced domestic violence,…

View More

September 21-22, 2022: Refresher and Practice Tips: Legal Remedies for Immigrant Survivors

Sep 21, 2022 12:00PM—Sep 22, 2022 5:00PM

Virtual ,

ASISTA Virtual CLE Conference Legal Refresher and Practice Tips: Legal Remedies for Immigrant Survivors      Wed, September 21st – Thur, September 22nd, 2022: 12-5:30 pm est REGISTER NOW Note for LAV Grantees Only: Grantees may use their LAV funds to attend this training without having to submit a GAM. All other OVW grantees & STOP sub-grantees: Please check with…

View More

Legal Refresher and Practice Tips: Legal Remedies for Immigrant Survivors

Sep 21, 2022 12:00PM—Sep 22, 2022 5:00PM

Virtual event

Join us for a Virtual CLE Conference Legal Refresher and Practice Tips: Legal Remedies for Immigrant Survivors    Wed., September 21 – Thur., September 22, 2022 ~ 12:00-5:00 pm ET (11:00am-4:00pm CT/10:00am-3:00pm MT/9:00am-2:00pm) Note for LAV Grantees: Grantees from the LAV Program can attend this conference without prior approval. Note for Other Grantees: Grantees from CSSP, Disability, Rural,…

View More

Representing U Visa Clients with Complex Issue

Sep 14, 2022

OVW Webinar Join us for a CLE Webinar Representing U Visa Clients with Complex Issue Wednesday, September 14th, 2022 from 2-4pm EST (1-3pm CST/12-2pm MST/11am-1pm PST/8-10am HST)  REGISTER NOW This advanced webinar will address some of the most challenging issues facing attorneys and advocates representing immigrant survivors on U visas. We will first discuss criminal…

View More

August 17, 2022: Inadmissibility Webinar Series: Crimes Involving Moral Turpitude (CIMT): Impact on Immigrant Survivors

Aug 17, 2022 2:00PM—3:00PM

Online

Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members (Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join us) Inadmissibility Webinar Series:  Crimes Involving Moral Turpitude (CIMT): Impact on Immigrant Survivors Wednesday, August 17th 2022 from 2-3pm EST (1-2pm CST/12-1pm MST/11am-12pm PST) REGISTER NOW! Join ASISTA for a discussion into the impact of the category of criminal offenses known…

View More

August 2, 2022: Navigating the Post-Roe Landscape: The Impact of the Dobbs Decision…

Aug 02, 2022 1:00PM—2:30PM

Navigating the Post-Roe Landscape: The Impact of the Dobbs Decision on Immigrant Survivors Tuesday, August 2nd, 2022 from 1:00 – 2:30 pm ET 12:00-1:30pm CST/11:00am-12:30pm MST/10:00-11:30am PST) The recording of this webinar is available in the ASISTA Online Store, please click here.  On June 24, 2022, the Supreme Court, for the first time ever, rescinded a…

View More

Intermediate/Advanced U Visa Topics

Jul 28, 2022 2:00PM—4:00PM

OVW Webinar Join us for a CLE Webinar  Intermediate/Advanced U Visa Topics Thursday, July 28th, 2022 from 2-4pm EST (1-3pm CST/12-2pm MST/11am-1pm PST/8-10am HST)  REGISTER NOW This intermediate/advanced webinar will cover some of the most common topics facing attorneys and advocates working on U visas. Topics will include extending U status and the definition of…

View More

July 20, 2022: Inadmissibility Webinar Series: Unlawful Presence Bars & the USCIS Policy Change

Jul 20, 2022 2:00PM—3:00PM

Private webinar

Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members (Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join us) Inadmissibility Webinar Series:  Unlawful Presence Bars & the USCIS Policy Change Wednesday, July 20th 2022 from 2-3pm EST (1-2pm CST/12-1pm MST/11am-12pm PST) REGISTER NOW! Join ASISTA for a deep-dive discussion into the unlawful presence bars at INA 212(a)(9)(B) and 212(a)(9)(C) as…

View More

PAYMENT June 29, 2022: Litigating Survivor-based Fee Waiver Denials

Jun 29, 2022 2:00PM—3:00PM

Private webinar

Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members (Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join us) Litigating Survivor-based Fee Waiver Denials Wednesday, June 29th from 2-3pm EST (11am-12pm PST/12-1pm MST/1-2pm CST) REGISTER NOW! Join ASISTA for a discussion on litigating fee waiver denials in survivor-based cases. This webinar will feature Lindsey Greising from The Advocates for…

View More

Representing Immigrant Survivors During & Post-Covid: Considerations for Attorneys and Advocates

Jun 10, 2022 2:00PM—4:00PM

OVW Webinar Join us for a CLE Webinar      Representing Immigrant Survivors During & Post-Covid: Considerations for Attorneys and Advocates Friday, June 10th, 2022 from 2-4pm EST (1-3pm CST/12-2pm MST/11am-1pm PST/8-10am HST)  REGISTER NOW The effects of the global pandemic have fallen particularly hard on immigrant survivors. This panel webinar, appropriate for all levels, explores Covid-specific considerations…

View More

June 8 – 9, 2022 Advanced Virtual CLE: Immigration Practice & Policy for Survivors: What’s New & What’s Next

Jun 08, 2022 12:00PM—Jun 09, 2022 5:30PM

Virtual ,

Join Us for an Advanced Virtual CLE Conference Immigration Practice & Policy for Survivors:  What’s New & What’s Next      Wed, June 8 – Thur, June 9, 2022: 12-5:30 pm est Description: This conference will cover advanced and emerging issues related to noncitizen survivors. We will hear from USCIS representatives on best practices and emerging…

View More

May 18 2022: U Visa Webinar Series: Adjustment of Status

May 18, 2022 2:00PM—3:00PM

Private webinar

Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members (Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join us) U Visa Webinar Series:  Adjustment of Status Wednesday, May 18th 2022 from 2-3pm EST (11am-12pm PST/12-1pm MST/1-2pm CST) REGISTER NOW! Join ASISTA for a deep-dive discussion on adjustment of status  in U visa cases. A U nonimmigrant who has accrued three…

View More

Bias, Equity, and the Impact of Anti-Blackness on Immigrant Survivors

Apr 25, 2022

Join us for a CLE Webinar Bias, Equity, and the Impact of Anti-Blackness on Immigrant Survivors Monday, April 25, 2022 from 2-4pm EST (1-3pm CST/12-2pm MST/11am-1pm PST/8-10am HST) REGISTER NOW This interactive webinar appropriate for all levels will explore the concepts of ethnicity, race, bias, and prejudice and their effects on shaping people’s lives. It…

View More

April 20, 2022: U Visa Webinar Series: U Visa Consular Processing

Apr 20, 2022 2:00PM—3:00PM

Join us for a CLE Webinar   Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members (Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join ASISTA)                    U Visa Webinar Series:  U Visa Consular Processing Wednesday, April 20, 2022 from 2-3pm ET (11am-12pm PST/12-1pm MST/1-2pm CST)  REGISTER NOW  Join ASISTA for a deep-dive discussion on…

View More

ASISTA Virtual Orientation + Greet 

Apr 12, 2022 2:00PM—3:30PM

ASISTA Virtual Orientation + Greet  April 12, 2022 ~ 2:00-3:30pm ET (1:00-2:30pm CT/12:00-1:30 MT/11:00am-12:30pm PT/8:00-9:30am HT) REGISTER Join us to learn how to access your benefits through ASISTA! This virtual session is a chance to meet + greet ASISTA staff, private members, OVW LAV grantees/sub-grantees, and STOP sub-grantees from across the nation. We’ll kick things…

View More

Intermediate Intensive VAWA Training

Mar 23, 2022 12:00PM—Mar 24, 2022 5:00PM

Virtual ,

Join Us for a Virtual CLE ConferenceIntermediate Intensive VAWA Training     Wed, March 23 – Thur, March 24, 2022: 12-5 pm estREGISTER NOW Description: During this two-day training, participants will learn best practices for navigating complex VAWA cases. Through interactive discussions, we will explore how to address challenging issues, such as evidentiary problems, inadmissibility waivers, and removal proceedings.…

View More

Webinar: Hot Topics in U and VAWA Cases

Feb 28, 2022 2:00PM—4:00PM

Join us for a CLE Webinar Hot Topics in U and VAWA Cases Monday, February 28, 2022 from 2-4pm EST (9-11am HST/11am-1pm PST/12-2pm MST/1-3pm CST) REGISTER NOW Join ASISTA for an interactive webinar appropriate for all levels.  ASISTA attorneys will demystify the most current trends in U visas and VAWA cases.  Specific topics will include:…

View More

February 16, 2022: U Visa Webinar Series: Waiver of Inadmissibility

Feb 16, 2022 2:00PM—3:00PM

Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members (Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join us) U Visa Webinar Series:  Waiver of Inadmissibility Wednesday, February 16th 2022 from 2-3pm EST (11am-12pm PST/12-1pm MST/1-2pm CST) REGISTER NOW! Join ASISTA for a deep-dive discussion on waivers of inadmissibility in U visa cases. Congress created the U nonimmigrant visa to…

View More