Navigating Systems with your Immigrant Survivor Clients

Nov 14, 2022

Cost Free for OVW LAV grantees/Sub-grantees, STOP sub-grantees and Potential grantees

Event Contact Maria Lazzarino | Email

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ASISTALOGONEW-1.jpeg

OVW Webinar

Join us for a CLE Webinar

Navigating Systems with your Immigrant Survivor Clients

Monday, November 14, 2022 from 2-4pm ET

(1-3pm CT/12-2pm MT/11am-1pm PT/8-10am HT)

REGISTER NOW

Navigating systems ostensibly designed to serve survivors can nonetheless be confusing, demoralizing, and exhausting. Immigrant survivors frequently have well-founded fear and distrust of many of these systems. This panel discussion, appropriate for all levels, will explore some of the reasons for that fear and distrust and will address best practices for attorneys and advocates navigating systems with their immigrant survivor clients.

Speakers:  

  • Shirley Luo, Program Manager, Resource Center, Asian Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence
  • Paula Gomez Stordy, M.Ed, Senior Director of National Training and TA for Esperanza United: National Latin@ Network for Healthy Families and Communities
  • Ayana Wallace, TTA Manager, Ujima, Inc.: The National Center on Violence Against Women in the Black Community 

Facilitator:  

  • Kelly Head, Staff Attorney, ASISTA

Note: An application for 2 TX MCLE credit hours is pending.

Who can participate in this webinar? 

ASISTA is offering this webinar to OVW LAV grantees/sub-grantees, STOP sub-grantees, and potential grantees. 

Please contact Maria Lazzarino at manager@asistahelp.org with any questions.

This project was supported by Grant No. 15JOVW-21-GK-02240-MUMU awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. Department of Justice.