January 20, 2022: U Visa Webinar Series: Demonstrating Substantial Mental or Physical Abuse

Jan 20, 2022 1:00PM—2:00PM

Cost Free for ASISTA Paid Members

Event Contact Maria Lazzarino | Email

Categories ,

Private Webinar FREE for ASISTA Paid Members

(Non-members must pay the webinar fee to participate or join us)

U Visa Webinar Series: Demonstrating Substantial Mental or Physical Abuse

Thursday, January 20th 2022 from 1-2pm EST

(10-11am PST/11am-12pm MST/12-1pm CST)

REGISTER NOW!

 

Join ASISTA for a deep-dive discussion on demonstrating substantial abuse in U visa cases. Congress created the U nonimmigrant visa to protect victims of qualifying crimes who have suffered substantial mental or physical abuse due to the crime and are willing to help law enforcement in the investigation or prosecution of the criminal activity. But how do you show that a client has suffered substantial abuse as a result of the qualifying crime? In this webinar, we will discuss the requirements for substantial abuse and strategies for showing that a client has experienced the requisite harm.

Speaker:

Amy Cheung, ASISTA Senior Legal Counsel

Lia Ocasio, ASISTA Staff Attorney

Note: Approved for 1 hr. Texas CLE credit.

Who can participate in this webinar?  ASISTA is offering this webinar FREE for ASISTA paid members.  All others may join ASISTA or pay for the webinar individually. 

Not a member? JOIN NOW! ASISTA membership includes a year’s worth of free technical assistance, individual case interventions with USCIS and other DHS agencies, and access to ASISTA webinars! 

 

Please CLICK HERE for membership information

 

Per-Webinar Cost for non-members:

Individual   $100.00                         Agency   $150.00 (more than one participant)

 

Payment Information: After you register for the webinaryou will be given payment instructions. Please make sure you complete this step to secure your registration. Please contact manager@asistahelp.org with any questions.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 www.asistahelp.org